Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

January 29, 2004
10:00 a.m.

challenging myths about emotions

I've been thinking lately about how I look at my emotions and how that affects what I do in response to them. Emotion regulation handout 2 addresses this. It presents some myths about emotion and encourages us to write out truth as a "challenge" to each myth. This is an important step in healthy emotion regulation. "regulating emotions" isn't the same thing as burying them, and for a long time that's how I treated it. I believed that negative emotions were bad.

Here's the list of myths from handout 2. It's not a complete list.

  1. There is a right way to feel in every situation.
  2. Letting others know that I am feeling bad is a weakness.
  3. Negative feelings are bad and destructive.
  4. Being emotional means being out of control.
  5. Emotions can just happen for no reason.
  6. Some emotions are really stupid.
  7. All painful emotions are a result of a bad attitude.
  8. If others don't approve of my feelings, I obviously shouldn't feel the way I do.
  9. Other people are the best judge of how I am feeling.
  10. Painful emotions are not really important and should be ignored.

Here's one of my challenges.

Myth: Other people are the best judge of how I am feeling.

Challenge: I'm the one who is inside my head, so I know best how I am feeling.

I also have myths about emotion from a spiritual perspective.

  1. God wants me to be joyful at all times, so that means I should never be sad.
  2. I shouldn't be unhappy about anything because God is probably giving me what I deserve (disciplining me).
  3. God responds to my emotions just like people do.
  4. I should never be angry because (a) it's not Christlike; or (b) vengeance is God's.
  5. Negative emotions are a sign that I am selfish.
  6. God isn't going to comfort me because how I feel is a choice I make.

Handout 5 was/is very helpful to me in confronting my myths. It helps to remember that my emotions are there for a reason and serve a purpose--sometimes more than one purpose--and that purpose is important.

EMOTIONS COMMUNICATE TO (AND INFLUENCE) OTHERS. ...

EMOTIONS ORGANIZE AND MOTIVATE ACTION. ...

EMOTIONS CAN BE SELF-VALIDATING.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.