Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

April 19, 1992
11:14 A.M.

the end of Granny's journey

I think I fell asleep around 11:30. The phone in my room doesn't ring, so I was surprised when the phone woke me up at 4:15. At first, I thought I had dreamed it. Elli went and sat out in the hall.

"Sarah, is Elli okay?" Dad said, coming down the hall.

"Yeah. Who was that?"

"It was Cheryl," he said. Cheryl and Mom had stayed at the hospital. "She says it's getting close if you want to come."

Dad and I both got up and dressed. The hospital is only five minutes away. We got there at 4:45.

Granny's breathing was different. She didn't seem to be forcing air like she was yesterday. She still had a lot of junk in her throat, though. Suddenly her breathing started slowing down. I was a little bit shocked that I could tell. She died at 5:00. I don't know whether we were crying because we were glad or we would miss her or some of each. There were five of us there. Dad had already gone home to be with Lynda. But there was a lot of peace in that room.

Mom said it made her think of Granny flying to Baton Rouge when I was born because I wasn't supposed to live. Mom said, "I'm glad you were there for her." Seems kind of strange.

I did pray for Granny's healing a few times. I didn't want her to go. But the answer was a clear but gentle "No, it's time for her to come home."

Yesterday I walked blindly. Friday I had tortured myself, and I had to trust what Angi told me five weeks ago. I couldn't spend my time questioning. I know now where those doubts came from, and I am glad I came in spite of them. My flight was a miracle once again. It was the last one out yesterday. If I had come on the first one this morning I would have been too late. I know now that the Lord was leading me, even though I didn't realize it then. He had already told me what He wanted me to do. This time He came silently and led me to do it.

Granny said something a few weeks ago about wanting to go on Easter. Just before I got there, Mom and Cheryl told her she had made it for Easter. Mom looked, and there was one tear in the corner of Granny's eye. I know she knew, and this day is special to me. There's nothing but His praise and healing for my flesh self.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.