Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

April 29, 1993
8:13 p.m.

thoughts about dominion

Genesis 1:26 "Then God said, 'Let us make humankind in our image, according to our likeness; and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the wild animals of the earth, and over every creeping thing that creeps upon the earth.'"

Synonyms for the word "dominion" include reign, rule, and sovereignty. Man was given dominion over all other living things. That is an awesome power--one that impresses on me the need to use it only as much as I need to. God has not given me dominion in order for me to have license to do as I please. He has given me dominion because He has trusted me enough to allow me to help in the care of His world.

What can I do to help take care of Your world and the creatures who live in it, Lord? Open my eyes to the ways I can use my dominion to Your glory. Amen.

Earlier this year I wanted to teach a youth class. I thought I was ready: I even had several months' worth of ideas outlined!

The youth class never worked out, so I decided to do the study on my own in a less-structured way. My first idea was to study God's role as a Father. I thought I could complete this in a week, but I was very wrong in thinking that. God exercises his Father role throughout the Bible. Studying the context of the verses where He is referred to as Father doesn't even begin to scratch the surface of what it means to know Him as a Father.

Another thing I noticed is that the Bible has a lot to suggest on issues I never dreamed it addressed. It doesn't always address issues openly. Sometimes it opens my mind in away that I can see certain issues from a godly perspective. Tonight I was thinking about Him giving us dominion over all living things, and I specifically thought of the environmental movement. We have dominion over that, too, and right now we are using that dominion to destroy our environment. The tragedy is that we are often too caught up in our dominion to enjoy the things God has given to us.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.