Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

July 16, 1998
9:40 p.m.

trying to get settled in with Medicaid and rehab

Today I went to the Medicaid office, among other things. Going to the Medicaid place was a riot. The lady kept asking if I had closed out my Texas Medicaid. She didn't seem to understand that it was closed automatically by the SSI people because I didn't live there any more. Then came the funny part. She started saying that I could apply for Medicaid Disability which takes 90 to 120 days. Then she asked, "Are you blind or something?" I had to try really hard not to crack up. I'm only sitting there with my glasses ten times the size of someone else's. "Well," she says, "you could apply for Medicaid Blind, and if you're blind enough it's much faster." She kept on emphasizing that if I was blind enough thing.

The Medicaid lady gave me a number to this place that helps with medical treatment while you're waiting for your Medicaid. I called, and they wanted to base it on my parents' income since I'm living with my parents. Never mind that I pay my parents rent. I didn't ask if they'd do the same thing if I was living with a roommate. It amazes me the way people assume I have it made because I live with my parents. The lady at the place was so rude when I called. I finally just told her I didn't need their services and hung up. I found out later that the hospital has a walk-in clinic and a visit costs $51. I'll just go there if I need a doctor that bad. I've had chronic bronchitis in the past, and I'm worried about this cold. I'm much better than I was, but it's not letting go yet. But it's not worth getting treated like a little child to get one visit to a doctor. None of the follow-ups would have been covered by the temporary help place.

About the job thing, I did find out that there is no employee housing available. Now I'm working on figuring up what the transportation would cost me each month to see if the job would be worth taking. I know that I can turn in transportation as a work-related expense when I turn in all the figures to SSI. I figure that if I come out ahead of where I am now financially and can do something that makes me happy, it's worth it.

I did make an appointment with the rehab people for next week. They were very nice and helpful. The person I talked to this morning was much nicer about explaining how the services worked. It sounds pretty similar to the set-up in Texas, but I'm a lot closer to the office than I was there, so maybe getting the services I need will be easier. I'm hoping to at least get some orientation to the town. It would be nice to know where things are. Maybe they can even help me figure out how to work this job thing.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.