Thanks for visiting my diary. I've been journaling since 1984 and have chosen to share some of my entries online. They are not all positive thoughts, but I hope that reading them might be a blessing to someone who needs encouragement.

If you are just coming to my diary for the first time, please read my introductory entry, where I share some background that is important if you plan to follow this diary regularly.

Please also visit my music page, where you can hear samples from my debut CD, I Believe, which features songs written based on experiences shared in this journal.

SARAH'S SCRIBBLINGS

October 20, 1992
6:44 p.m.

grief and questions

When Vicki died, I had a weird impulse to pray for her. This was strange to me because I am not from a liturgical background--have never even set foot in a liturgical church--and I have almost no experience dealing with this kind of thing. The only experience that is clear and vivid to me is my grandmother's. I have not had any of the questions I have had about Vicki.

There are lots of disclaimers to go with this one. The biggest question is this: Is Vicki with the Lord, absolutely for sure?

Disclaimers:

I am not God. I know He takes those whom He will to be with Him, and I know the answer to my question is not for me to know unless He tells me. But it matters to me in a way that nothing ever mattered. It makes me question what I believe about God and if that is right or wrong. I know my faith should not depend on this, but this makes me need to know what I believe.

I might not want to know if someone I loved was not with the Lord, either. But not knowing is torture to me. One of the classes I took notes for read "The Tragedy of Dr. Faustus" by Christopher Marlowe. The idea is that this theology professor sells his soul to the devil. He walks around with this demon for 24 years while he's still living. In response to the professor's question about why the demon is not in hell, the demon explains that he has seen what heaven is like, and anything that isn't heaven is hell. In a sense, that is the reaction I get to not knowing. I don't know that I agree with the theology, but I now understand Steve Spanks' concept of heaven and hell.

I have always believed that God saves us by grace and not because of our works. I suppose the flip side would be that He does not zap us for works either. This is where I start asking some of the same questions Peter was asking. All I know is the police ruled an intentional suicide. I have heard so much about that being a sin that I am not really getting a peace about it. Would God send Vicki away for something like that? That is what scares me.

Read More

Previous

Archives

Next

Affiliations

I am a member of Lighted Path, a directory of Christian diaries.

Learn About Me

Read my profile. This is not a comprehensive introduction, but there is some fun information there.

Visit my official site to read more of my writing:
http://www.growingstrong.org

Spread the Word

Did you enjoy reading my diary? Feel free to share it with other people you know. Tell your friends about my diary. If you have your own site, you can link to me using the URL: http://freeinjesus.diaryland.com.

Want to Communicate with Me?

Email me directly. This is the best way to get a message to me personally and privately.

Leave me a note here at Diaryland.

Sign my guestbook.
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get Updates

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Surf DiaryLand

Read other people's diaries.
Get your own DiaryLand site.